Year 10 students honoured with the Diana Award

Rastrick High School is delighted to announce that Year 10 student Megan Martin and the Year 10 Student Leaders have both been honoured with a Diana Award.

Megan Martin, has received the Diana Champion Volunteer Award.

IMG 0104

This is in recognition of her voluntary work at the Brighouse Rest Centre every Saturday morning where she makes a difference with all of the residents, always making time to chat with them and ensure their needs are met. She works very hard when she visits, making drinks, placing orders, cleaning up and has eagerly continued volunteering at the home even though her set commitment has be fulfilled. Megan hopes to continue her work and perhaps embark on a career in working with elders once she has finished school.


Year 10 Student Leaders received the Diana Active Campaigner Award in recognition of their hard work on a traffic monitoring project. After a fellow student narrowly missed being hit by a car outside of their school, this group of elected classmates worked together to write to their Borough Council raising their concerns regarding student safety. Together the students and council professionals devised a monitoring program to run throughout the school week. The Student Leaders began to monitor traffic speed and recorded students’ difficulty crossing the road to school. Not only did they present their research to the Head of the school, they also fund raised to create an information leaflet and posters with details and advice for students and motorists.  This was presented to students at Rastrick High School and local primary schools, in total reaching over 3,000 young people in the Rastrick and Brighouse area.

Student Leaders



Since 1999, over 47,000 young people have been recognised with a Diana Award for making an outstanding difference in their communities’ across the globe and continuing Princess Diana’s legacy. With the support of HRH Prince William and HRH Prince Harry, The Diana Award aims to inspire and recognise social action in young people by going beyond its Awards programme with youth led initiatives that empower young people to achieve their full potential and make a difference.

Tessy Ojo CEO of the Diana Award said: “The Diana Award is proud to recognise incredible young people, like Megan Martin who have the confidence and courage to stand up for what they believe. The Diana Award is presented to inspirational young people who work to improve the lives of others in their schools and communities. With a growing network of over 47,000 Award Holders, we are building a force of young people who are committed to taking action and improving the lives of others.”

Steve Evans, Headteacher at Rastrick High School said, “We are extremely proud of both Megan and the Year 10 Student Leaders for their respective awards.  They have all dedicated a great amount of their time to helping others which will hopefully encourage and inspire other youngsters to make a difference in their community.”

To celebrate #DianasLegacy during Princess Diana’s birthday month The Diana Award will be publishing a full list of Award Holders from the academic year 2015/2016 at


« Back to News